Wild Hair Rant

This is not directed at any one person, but I feel that it needs to be said. I feel that people do not see where I am coming from when I post things, and I hope that you if you read this and grasp even a little bit of what is said you will understand me a little bit better. I want people to understand that I might be 23, but I have been in the lifestyle for a decade now. I have also been running and a leader of the Charleston community now for the last five years. I want everyone to understand where this community came from, because a lot of you haven’t been around to know it. You didn’t see where it came from, or how many times it failed before it thrived. So please read this with an open mind and stop judging the community by standards from another.

This community is all of us, and I never once said that it wasn’t. Though, at the end of the day you have to realize this community was built from ashes over and over again until we got it right. To this day I am still very much worried that the slightest drama or incident within the community will shatter us again as it has in the past.

This is something that not only worries me, but it saddens me. This community is not my own, but I have worked very hard to try my best to keep it together. I’m glad that now I can step back and take personal time for myself and everything doesn’t come crashing down.

I have learned from the five years of experience that I have gained running this community you can’t make everyone happy. You have people in the community that come and go. Is this bad? No, I don’t think so, because you can’t click with everyone. Just because you are friendly with someone doesn’t mean that you are going to be best friends.

Some people are rope people, some are impact people, and some like it all. Though, it’s impossible to make an event that will satisfy everyone in the communities fancy.

We have lost a lot of good people that helped make this community possible. Most have moved, and some have even passed away. Though, I’m glad that they helped me. I’m glad for the time that they were here, because without the help this community wouldn’t be what it is today.

When it began if we had an event of some form or fashion every three months we were doing good. If a predator would have appeared there was little to nothing that we could do about it. Now that has all changed. We are a thriving community that has things going on at least once a week if not more.

Let me also say when it was just me and maybe 2-3 other people hosting events and munches there have and will always be people that come. So even though the people that attend events are our friends, family, and community they don’t necessarily make the magic happen.

No, before someone yells at me that doesn’t make them worthless. They are still apart of the community. But, at the end of the day it takes WORK to make this community run, and the people that do the WORK deserve to be congratulated. If you saw that someone that helps and works wasn’t mentioned you should have pointed it out like the post said to.

In my quest to find people willing to actually work? It didn’t happen over night. Everyone want(s) to go to an event, but no one at first wanted to host, set up, organize, take money, guard the door, and the many other things that our members do. So to have members that work? Wow! That is amazing so do I think me posting a list of people that do the work for events over and over again was wrong?

No I do not! Will I do it again probably? If I see that people should be given a little bit of applause here and there then yes I will.

So this is my .02 cents and I hope that it doesn’t’ offend anyone though I’m sure that it will, and I’m sure that someone will post something negative and condescending about this. Do I care? Yes, because they are part of my community. Though, No! I will not let it hurt me.

Are we still having a birthday party? Hell fucking yes!!! Though till things are decided that’s all the juicy news you cougars get ;P

~ by Snow on September 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
