Trust in the name

We will boast in the name of the LORD our God. Psalm 20:7 GW

Yahweh, show me where I have been running to other things and other people instead of first running to You whenever I am afraid. What issues are causing me concern? How does knowing God’s name help me face my problems today?

I’m a big worry wart. Right, now I’m working, because Nick lost his job. I found my job within six hours of looking for one. Nick will more then likely be starting a new job Monday. Do I still worry though? Yes… I’m ashamed to say even though I know that I shouldn’t worry, and that I should just put in the hands of my heavenly mother & father. I still find that it is hard. Though, I can say happily that I haven’t been worrying about it as much as I normally would, and when I begin worrying about it I have begun to be able to calm myself by remind myself it’s not in my hands. Also by reminding myself that I have nothing to worry about.

I have a sign on my wall in my bed room that says, ‘Sometimes God calms the storm, and sometimes he lets the storm rage and calms his children.” This has become my motto as of lately to remind myself that he is here when I need him. That I am not alone!!!

References:

Ava Pennington. One Year Alone with God: 366 Devotions on the Names of God (p. 27). Kindle Edition.

~ by Snow on January 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
