Medical Decisions

April-May 2011 I had two pulmonary embolism‘s one in each of the outer portion of my lungs. I spent a week in the hospital getting two lovenox injections into my stomach daily while also taking warfarin. While in the hospital they didn’t do the genetic testing that I needed to know if the blood clots where due to the birth control I was taking or if they were a genetic condition.

So for the next six months after I got out of the hospital I went bi-weekly at first then monthly to the doctor so he could test my blood and make sure my blood wasn’t too thin or too thick while I was taking warfarin. Well over thanksgiving week I got the call from my doctor to tell me that I my test results were in and that my body doesn’t produce enough Protein C which means that it is a genetic condition.

Tomorrow, me & Nick will be going to talk to the doctor about my opinions at this point. I was told over the phone that I would need to stay on warfarin for the rest of my life. The only really big problem I have with this is that you can’t get pregnant on it. Well you can… but it’s like taking rat poison. The baby wouldn’t live and if it did it was be massively fucked up.

Two people I know have similar conditions that should require them to take warfarin, but they are actually on an aspirin regiment. So we are going to talk to the doctor about possibly doing that, or if there are any other drugs that I could take. If he says yes to only warfarin… then I plan to discuss my chances of living without the drug, because I already lost two children I can’t take birth control so taking warfarin and having sex is like playing Russian roulette with a possible child involved. Which is something that I am not simply willing to do.

~ by Snow on December 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
